“He Wasn’t In His Right Mind”

Every time I get it into my head that I might be able to write, I look at the work of a true master and remember all the years of training and experience that I don’t have.

Seems to me that writing is something that is, or is not. Do, or do not. There is no “try”. A Writer has to write. Seems to me that a Writer is always writing. Those of us who Don’t Have It can sit down occasionally and toss off something that may be Writing… it may be words strung together, perfectly punctuated, and even make sense.

And against the work of a Writer, it looks pretty sad.  Like the music of a McDonald’s commercial set against the Beatles.  It’s not only the years of sweat and effort, it’s the Gift.  You either got it, or you don’t.

Write on, Mr Vanderleun.

Comments are closed.

