A well-deserved day off

After being at my duty post every duty day since Thanksgiving, and living on 24/7 dispatch, I am enjoying a week away. I was able to cut back some brush in the cool of the morning, and I have a slow-spinning Maytag washer to look at this afternoon.

Copious amounts of web-surfing will be done, hours of Warcraft and Total War whenever I want. and above all – the relaxation that comes from being unplugged from a high-stress workplace. I have a room-sized closet to build and a couple thousand mp3s to sort thru.

When I go back to work, I will have a new credo: Your problem is not my emergency. I will help you in any way I can, but I can no longer risk health and sanity to clean up your mess. I do not expect you to pull me out of my ditch, either.

Comments are closed.

